February 2, 1992 – 24 Hours at Daytona trophy goes to Japan for first time

Endurance automobile racing began at Daytona International Raceway in Florida shortly after the course opened in April of 1959, beginning with a six hour sports car race. Following a series of expansions to the race, the first 24 Hours of Daytona took place in 1966 and was won by Ken Miles and Lloyd Ruby driving a Ford GT40 Mk. II. The race was dominated by American and European cars for decades until this day in 1992 when Japanese racers Masahiro Hasemi, Kazuyoshi Hoshino and Toshio Suzuki took home the gold driving a Nissan R91CP (pictured) sponsored by Nissan Motorsports Intl. They covered 2,712.720 miles (4,365.7 km) during their monumental victory, bringing the trophy to Japan for the first time.

Daytona road course

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Close Menu

If you enjoy This Day in Automotive History, please consider making a fast and secure PayPal donation. Thank you for visiting!