Subscribe to our Newsletter!

February 2, 1992 – First Japanese win at 24 Hours of Daytona

Endurance automobile racing began at Daytona International Raceway in Florida shortly after the course opened in April of 1959, beginning with a six hour sports car race. Following a series of expansions to the race the first 24 Hours of Daytona took place in 1966 and was won by Ken Miles and Lloyd Ruby driving a Ford GT40 Mk. II. The race was dominated by American and European cars for decades until this day in 1992 when Japanese racers Masahiro Hasemi, Kazuyoshi Hoshino and Toshio Suzuki took home the gold driving a Nissan R91CP and sponsored by Nissan Motorsports Intl. They covered 2,712.720 miles (4,365.700 km) during their monumental victory, bringing the trophy to Japan for the first time. Nissan R91CK, similar to the vehicle used to win the 1992 24 Hours of Daytona. By Oli R – LeMans, CC BY 2.0, of the road course used for 24 Hours of Daytona

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

If you learned something today,

please buy me a beer!